How to Survive a Long-Distance Relationship with your Homeland

By: Sashwatha Sridhar

At a cruising altitude of 35,000 feet above the ground, I jolted from my sleep to the stillness of the aircraft and the realization that I had left home. But it wasn’t until the flight descended into the snowy winter of Chicago that the truth hit me. This isn’t home, I murmured under my breath.

This was one year ago.

After a few rough months, I warmed up to the city. It is true what they say, “Home is not a place; it’s a feeling.” A feeling you can create anywhere you go — if you are willing. So if you’re reading this in the midnight hour of nostalgia, scroll down for some expat-tested ideas on surviving a long-distance relationship with your homeland.

  1. Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue. You’re not getting married but you’re starting a new life and that is significant. Maybe it’s an old blanket you can crawl under when you feel homesick or the pajamas you literally lived in back home. Don’t forget to pack them in your suitcase.
  2. Identify a store that sells spices and other ingredients you’ll need to prepare a home-cooked meal. I couldn’t even boil an egg when I started. Ready-to-eat food to the rescue ! Brands such as MTR, Swad, and Haldirams have a plethora of options for Indian food.

    anise-aroma-art-277253
    Food is often the best cure for homesickness
  3. Find camaraderie in fellow expatriates. I follow a mommy blogger in Hungary, a food gourmand in Germany, and a fashion influencer from New York. We are continents apart, but united in our shared circumstance. All three of them lived in India. And now, all four of us, don’t. Reading their posts makes me feel less alone in my journey.
  4. Sign up for websites that air shows from your home country. YouTube is my go-to channel but you could also surf HotStar, SonyLiv, and Amazon Prime for a collection of daily soaps and movies.
  5. Call your mom. Ask her about her day. Then ask her to show you around the house. Take a virtual walk in your backyard or even down the street. This may or may not work for you but seeing that everything is just as I left it, has a calming effect on me.

While this post may carry some specifics for an Indian audience, I hope this article helps the broader expatriate community settle into their new homes. Do share your story in the comments section below. I’d love to know what’s in your survival kit !

7 thoughts on “How to Survive a Long-Distance Relationship with your Homeland”

  1. Hi Sash – This made my heart hurt for you, but it was beautifully written! I moved abroad for a job after college and being halfway around the world was definitely tough (though I knew it was never a permanent move, which helped). Here are some things that helped me when I was feeling homesick… Write (a lot). FaceTime your family to show them YOUR new home. Find your new favorites (a local coffee shop, a certain walk home, etc). Explore and experience the city as much as possible. (The more you can connect to the place you are at, the more it can start to feel like home.) I also loved that you’ve found other people in your similar situation to connect with. I wonder if there are some Indian community groups in Chicago you could connect with as well, if you haven’t already. Finding locals that share your story may ease your homesickness. Wishing you the best!
    -Rachel

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sash,
    I love this post!!! You have such a positive mindset and great advice for other people who are far from home! Your experience and how you have overcome your homesickeness was portrayed perfectly through your words! If I ever move away from home, I will be sure to re-read this post!
    Great work,
    Abby

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sash,

    This is incredible. I admire your courage to leave your homeland and travel somewhere new. You have gained a lot of wisdom and independence. Your story is inspirational and your words motivate people to get through rough times, challenges, and feelings of homesickness. Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Sash!

    I loved reading your article and could relate to many of the topics discussed within it. When I was 21 I moved away from Chicago to Milwaukee to be closer to the love of my life at the time. I didn’t consider the fact that my family wouldn’t be so close anymore (although two hours isn’t quite bad). I definitely took something from home to make living in a new place a better experience. I actually did take my cover, not only did it remind me of home, but it gave me a good night’s sleep. I loved reading about the different advice you had about moving away from homeland, because I was in your shoes less than two years ago.

    Best,
    Trish Cole

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sash,

    Thank you for reminding me of this. I am from Chicago and I while I love and celebrate that Chicago has a lot of people from many parts of the world and country I often forget about the solitude they might be experiencing.

    Thank you for sharing,
    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment